The St. Louis County Police Department accepts applications at the St. Louis County Police Headquarters, located at 7900 Forsyth Boulevard, 63105. Clerks are available 7:30 AM and 4:30 PM Monday through Friday.
PLEASE NOTE: LONGER THAN NORMAL WAIT TIMES SHOULD BE EXPECTED WHEN APPLYING FOR CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS ON MONDAYS, FRIDAYS, AND THE LAST WEEK OF EACH MONTH!
No new applications for Concealed Carry Weapons Permits will be accepted after 4:30 PM.
The following procedure was developed for all St. Louis County residents to follow in order to obtain a concealed carry permit. What follows is the list of requirements for residents of St. Louis County as mandated by State Statute.
Applicants will be required to:
- Appear in person to the endorsement application location
- Provide a valid Missouri Drivers License, Non-Drivers license or Military ID and orders
- Complete the application affirming that all qualifications have been met
- Submit a photocopy of the firearms qualification certification
- Pay $90 fee - Pay by credit card, cash, or a check or money order made payable to Treasurer - St. Louis County
The St. Louis County Police Department will be accepting applications at the St. Louis County Police Headquarters, located at 7900 Forsyth Boulevard, 63105. Clerks will be available between the hours of 7:30 AM and 4:30 PM Monday through Friday. No new applications for Concealed Carry Weapons Permits will be accepted after 4:30 PM.
Forms may be obtained in person, or may be downloaded from the links below. Please complete and take to the Bureau of Central Police Records.. Downloadable Application
Applications will be taken for the endorsement on the Street Level of the Headquarters building, in the Private Security Unit of the Bureau of Central Police Records.
To receive a CCW renewal, residents should apply at 7900 Forsyth Blvd, Clayton, MO 63105 between 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
- Your current conceal carry permit
- Your current Driver's License or non-drivers license.
- If the Concealed Carry Permit does not have your current address, provide proof of residency with name and address. (Examples include: Missouri driver's license, utility bill, personal property tax receipt, or voter registration card.)
A non-refundable fee of $40 is required for all CCW renewals. Acceptable payment types include cash, check or debit/credit cards. American Express not accepted.
Late Fees Penalty
A person who has been issued a concealed carry permit, or a certificate of qualification for the concealed carry endorsement prior to August 23, 2013, who fails to file a renewal application for a conceal carry permit on or before its expiration date must pay an additional late for of ten dollars ($10) per month for each month it is expired for up to six months. Any person who has been issued a concealed carry permit pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121 or a concealed carry endorsement issued prior to August 23, 2013 who fails to renew his or her application within the six-month period must reapply for a new concealed carry permit and pay the fee for a new application.
A concealed carry permit shall be valid for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance.
Requirements for Obtaining a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit
- At least 19 years of age.
- A citizen of The United States.
- Has assumed residency in this state; or
- A member of the armed forces stationed in Missouri, or spouse of such member.
- Has not been convicted of or pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a felony crime.
- Has not received a suspended imposition of sentence - (SIS) for a felony crime.
- Has not been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a 5 year period immediately preceding application for a permit to carry concealed.
- Has not been convicted of 2 or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a 5 year period immediately preceding application for a permit to carry concealed.
- Is not a fugitive from justice.
- Is not presently on in an information or indictment.
- Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States armed forces.
- Has not engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records that causes the sheriff to have reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself or others.
- Is not adjudged mentally incompetent or has been committed to a mental health facility.
- Attended a concealed carry safety class conducted by a certified firearms instructor.
- Is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect.
For additional information concerning a Missouri Carry Conceal Permit please call 615-4272 .
Applicants are reminded that once the application is submitted, the approval process can take as long as 45 days. Notification of approval or denial will be made by mail. The notification will provide further instructions based on the approval or denial. If approved, the certificate of endorsement must be carried at all times when in possession of a concealed firearm.
Concealed Carry Reciprocity Page - Attorney General of Missouri
Find Missouri Statue Here: RSMo 571.111.
Missouri Sheriff's Association
Please note: Effective October 10, 2014 the age for obtaining a Concealed Carry Weapons Permit has has been lowered from 21 to 19.
Also: All trainees must complete a live firing exercise of sufficient duration to fire a pistol and semi-automatic handgun, from a standing position or its equivalent, a minimum of twenty (20) rounds from each weapon at a distance of seven (7) yards on a B-27 silhouette target or an equivalent target. They must then complete a live fire test, administered while the instructor is present, of twenty (20) rounds from each weapon from a standing position or its equivalent at a distance from a B-27 silhouette target, or an equivalent target, of seven (7) yards and hit the silhouette portion of the target with at least fifteen (15) rounds.
Click the link to download the Firearms Safety Instructor Form.
To view and print this file you will need to install the free Adobe Acrobat Reader. It may be downloaded from Adobe by clicking this icon:
You must be an approved instructor with credentials on file with our Department before we will issue a Concealed Carry Weapons Permit to any person trained by you.
For further information contact Lieutenant Craig Molden at: [email protected].