Division of Patrol





Lt. Colonel Ludwig, Commanding Officer
Division of Patrol
(314) 615-4294

The Division of Patrol is the largest of the four divisions within the St. Louis County Police Department.  The Division maintains eight County and Municipal Precincts, each strategically located throughout St. Louis County to ensure a quick response to a variety of calls for service, quality of life issues or any other concerns a community may experience.  Each individual precinct is staffed with a commander who holds the rank of captain. Most precincts are staffed with lieutenant and sergeants who provide front line supervision for patrol officers that are readily available  24 hours a day.  

To uphold our mission and philosophy of neighborhood policing, it is critical we maintain close relationships with our neighbors of St. Louis County.  The partnership between police and each community we serve is essential in creating and maintaining safer neighborhoods.  

The St. Louis County Police Department is committed to finding lasting solutions to problems that affect the quality of life of our citizens.  By maintaining a uniform presence 24 hours a day, with highly trained officers who respond to any emergency or call for service, we become one step closer to accomplishing our mission.     

Our officers incorporate the concepts and ideals of neighborhood policing into their daily activities. To complement our patrol officers, we maintain the following units: Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE), School Resource Officers, and  Neighborhood Police Officers.  More than 400 uniformed officers work in the Division.

Neighborhood Policing Unit

Currently each precinct has Neighborhood Police Officers assigned to work directly with the community and the commander of the precinct. They play an integral part of determining quality of life issues and assisting in the forming and working of neighborhood citizens groups to attain those goals.  Neighborhood Policing units assist in the following: Bicycle Patrol, Citizen Police Academy, Gun Lock Safety Program, Neighborhood Watch, SAFE Schools Partnership & Hotline, and Teen Police Academy. 


School Resource Officers

The St. Louis County Police Department contracts School Resource Officers to 12 school districts throughout the county.  Over 40 officers are dedicated to assist in continuing to provide safe environments for students, staff and citizens who interact with the district.  Our commitment to our children's future is unwavering. 


North County

11815 Benham Road
St. Louis, MO 63138
(314) 355-1200

Central County

1333 Ashby Road
St. Louis, MO 63132
(314) 567-9926

Affton Southwest County

9928 Gravois Road
St. Louis, MO 63123
(314) 638-5550

South County

323 Sappington Barracks
St. Louis, MO 63125
(314) 615-0162

City of Fenton

625 New Smizer Mill Road
Fenton, MO 63026
(636) 349-8120

City of Wildwood

16860 Main Street
Wildwood, MO 63040
(636) 458-9194

West County

232 Vance Road
St. Louis, MO 63088
(636) 225-0425

City of Jennings

5445 Jennings Station Road
St. Louis, MO 63136
(314) 385-4672